Waterstones announces shortlist for Children’s Book Prize: Jandy Nelson, Melinda Salisbury and MORE

The shortlist has been announced for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2016 and it includes some of our favourite YA authors. #happydance

This is a quick rundown of how it works: there are three categories – illustrated, younger fiction and older fiction. Six books are shortlisted for each category which then compete to be category winners. THEN the three category winners deuce it out to be crowned champion of champions, gaining the title ‘Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year 2016’. Swanky!

And the nominees for the older fiction are:

  • ‘The Art of Being Normal’ by Lisa Williamson
  • ‘I’ll Give You the Sun’ by Jandy Nelson
  • ‘The Sin Eater’s Daughter’ by Melinda Salisbury
  • ‘Seed’ by Lisa Heathfield
  • ‘The Accident Season’ by Moira Fowley-Doyle
  • ’13 Days of Midnight’ by Leo Hunt

And the award goes to…

Aaah! The winner’s will be announced on Thursday 17th March. Totes excite! And congrats to all of those shortlisted!

So, who are you backing to win? Tweet us your predictions @maximumpopbooks

Leave a Reply




Written by Sarah Clare

Sarah is the Lead Writer and Design Queen here at Maximum Pop! Sarah holds an MA in Professional Writing from Falmouth University, and a BA in Creative Writing with English Literature from Marjon (BIG UP THE MARJON MASSIVE!). Sarah joined MP! after seeing an advertisement for writers on Instagram – because where else would a design master find their dream job?

Sarah is currently working on an expose on Draco Malfoy in her spare time. But not if his father hears about it.

[g1_socials_user user="149" icon_size="28" icon_color="text"]

QUIZ: Which Supernatural character are you?

11 stages of the that come before that Friday feeling!