,

OMFG

4 books you HAVE to read if you’re obsessed with ‘Pretty Little Liars’

You’ll devour these in one sitting


‘Pretty Little Liars’ is THE show that we love to hate. Don’t get us wrong, we’re massive fans of it. Lucy Hale is an incredible actress and we’d gladly watch anything she’s in – even if it was a car commercial or an advert selling baked beans! But that hasn’t stopped the past seven years from being pure torture for PLL fans.

You guys don’t need us to tell you that the show is packed full of twists and turns. It’s one surprise after the next and, quite honestly, it makes us a little dizzy just thinking about all of them.

Of course, that’s the secret of creating a great thriller, though. As frustrating as it is, the producers of ‘Pretty Little Liars’ and the author of the original book series, Sara Shepard, know that all too well – they’re practically masters at hooking you in and making you want more.

We’ve been on the hunt for some thrilling YA reads that fans of ‘Pretty Little Liars’ will love and boy do we have a list for you. All four of these fantastic reads are full of suspense and mystery. In fact, we’re gonna apologise in advance because once you’ve read these synopsises, you’ll wanna devour them all in one sitting.

1. ‘One Of Us Is Lying’ by Karen McManus

 

If you haven’t yet checked out ‘One Of Us Is Lying’ by Karen McManus’ yet, we suggest doing so immediately. It’s one of the most Gen Z books out there at the minute, and is full of pop-culture references that fans of MP! will love. We like to think of it as a mix between ‘Pretty Little Liars’ and ‘Gossip Girl’, so it’s basically Netflix in a book.

The book’s synopsis…

Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive. Bronwyn, the geek, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. Nate, the bad boy, is already on probation for dealing. Cooper, the jock, is the all-star baseball pitcher. And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention, Simon’s dead. And according to investi¬gators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Thursday, he died. But on Friday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they just the scapegoats for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

MP!’s favourite quote….

2. ‘Burn for Burn’ by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

We have so much time for Jenny Han, here at MP! Her Lara Jean series is a YA must and her ‘Burn for Burn’ books written with Siobhan Vivian will always be some of our favourites. The books focus on three friends who are all seeking revenge. Like the sound of it? You should. It’s twisted and will have you OMG-ing for days.

The book’s synopsis…

Postcard-perfect Jar Island is home to charming tourist shops, pristine beaches, amazing oceanfront homes—and three girls secretly plotting revenge.

KAT is sick and tired of being bullied by her former best friend.

LILLIA has always looked out for her little sister, so when she discovers that one of her guy friends has been secretly hooking up with her, she’s going to put a stop to it.

MARY is perpetually haunted by a traumatic event from years past, and the boy who’s responsible has yet to get what’s coming to him.

None of the girls can act on their revenge fantasies alone without being suspected. But together…anything is possible.

MP!’s favourite quote…

3. ‘Girls on Fire’ by Robin Wasserman

Released last year, ‘Girls On Fire’ has received heaps of praise for it’s chilling storyline. We’re not going to beat around the bush with this one. It’s dark – incredibly dark. The story follows two friends Hannah and Lacey and what happens to them after a popular jock at their school commits suicide. All isn’t as it seems, though. With cults, mean girls and plenty of coming-of-age moments, it’s a thriller that’s you’ll be thinking about for days after.

The book’s synopsis…

Girls on Fire tells the story of Hannah and Lacey and their obsessive teenage female friendship so passionately violent it bloodies the very sunset its protagonists insist on riding into, together, at any cost. Opening with a suicide whose aftermath brings good girl Hannah together with the town’s bad girl, Lacey, the two bring their combined wills to bear on the community in which they live; unconcerned by the mounting discomfort that their lust for chaos and rebellion causes the inhabitants of their parochial small town, they think they are invulnerable.

But Lacey has a secret, about life before her better half, and it’s a secret that will change everything…

MP!’s favourite quote…

4. ‘They All Fall Down’ by Roxanne St. Claire

‘They All Fall Down’ is an absolute page turner. The story follows geeky, Latin-speaking heroine, Kenzie Summerall, and how her life drastically changes after her name appears on a list of ten girls. It’s basically PLL 2.0.

The book’s synopsis…

Every year, the lives of ten girls at Vienna High are transformed. All because of the list.

Kenzie Summerall can’t imagine how she’s been voted onto a list of the hottest girls in school, but when she lands at number five, her average life becomes dazzling. Doors open to the best parties, new friends surround her, the cutest jock in school is after her.

This is the power of the list. If you’re on it, your life changes.

If you’re on it this year? Your life ends.

The girls on the list have started to die, one by one. Is it a coincidence? A curse? Or is the list in the hands of a killer?

Time is running out for Kenzie, but she’s determined to uncover the deadly secret of the list…before her number’s up.

MP!’s favourite quote…

Have you got a suggestion for a  YA thriller to delve into? Is it similar to ‘Pretty Little Liars’? Let us know in the comments below. 

Leave a Reply

Loading…

Comments

comments

Written by Emma Matthews

Emma is a freelance journalist at MP.

When she’s not writing articles for Maximum Pop!, you’ll find her attending gigs, geeking out over the latest beauty products and reading feminist literature. Hermione is her favourite Harry Potter character - obviously.

And the winners are… WIN! A magical set of 4 Hogwarts House Editions of ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’

MP! Exclusive: Brooklyn Beckham told us that he gets advice from THIS ‘Riverdale’ superstar