,

If you LOVE ’13 Reasons Why’ you’ll want to read THESE books RIGHT NOW

These pacey thrillers will leave you shocked


Trigger warning: Please be aware that the following article contains written and visual material that may be triggering to people who have or are sensitive to topics such as depression, suicide, anxiety and grief.

’13 Reasons Why’ has gone from strength to strength. The book was first published way back in 2007 and it immediately hooked readers in with it’s powerful storyline and beautifully written characters.

What we didn’t know way back then, though, was how popular ’13 Reasons Why’ would still be 10 years later!

The Netflix on-screen adaption of Jay Asher’s story has introduced ’13 Reasons Why’ to a whole bunch of new fans and it’s quickly becoming a modern classic.

Heaps of you tweet us about both the book and the TV show. So many, in fact, that we decided to round up five other fantastic YA reads that you’ll love just as much as Jay’s book.

1. ‘All The Bright Places’ by Jennifer Niven

We’re not gonna beat around the bush, ‘All The Bright Places’ is an emotional read. Just like ’13 Reasons Why’ it’s a hard-hitting yet essential book that explores mental health.The main protagonist Theodore is severally depressed and is constantly thinking of ways he might kill himself. Violet is also struggling in the wake of her sisters death.

The book’s synopsis…

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

MP!’s favourite quote…

2. ‘The One Memory of Flora Banks’ by Emily Barr

Emily Barr’s epic ‘The One Memory Of Flora Banks’ is an absolute page-turner. The book focuses on one of the most compelling teen protagonists ever, Flora, and the struggles she faces due to having no short-term memory. 

The book’s synopsis…

Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life.

MP!’s favourite quote…

3. ‘One of Us is Lying’ by Karen McManus

 

If you’re a regular reader of MP!, you already know that we absolutely adore ‘One of Us is Lying’ by Karen McManus. It’s a great high-school thriller and in our eyes is basically ‘Pretty Little Liars’ 2.0. You’ll also love it if you loved Netflix’s version of ’13 Reasons Why’.

The book’s synopsis…

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

MP!’s favourite quote…

4. ‘Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index’ by Julie Israel

‘Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index’ is ANOTHER awesome high-school based YA novel. There’s a brilliant Clay-like character in the book. There’s also a myserteous figure who reminds us an awful lot of Tyler.

The book’s synopsis…

It’s been sixty-five days since the accident that killed Juniper’s sister, and ripped Juniper’s world apart.

Then she finds the love letter: written by Camilla on the day of the accident, addressed mysteriously to “You,” but never sent. Desperate to learn You’s identity and deliver the message, Juniper starts to investigate.

Until she loses something. A card from her Happiness Index: a ritual started by sunny Camie for logging positives each day. It’s what’s been holding Juniper together since her death – but a lost card only widens the hole she left behind. And this particular card contains Juniper’s own dark secret: a memory she can’t let anyone else find out.

The search for You and her card take Juniper to even less expected places, and as she connects with those whose secrets she upturns in the effort, she may just find the means to make peace with her own.

MP!’s favourite quote…

5. ‘Noughts & Crosses’ by Malorie Blackman

This book needs no introduction. ‘Noughts & Crosses’ was first published in 2001. It’s a critically acclaimed book series and a modern classic that you’ll want to read time and time again.

The book’s synopsis…

Sephy and Callum have been friends since early childhood. And that’s as far as it can go. Because theirs is a world full of prejudice, racism, distrust and mounting terrorist violence.

Despite all this, a romance builds between the two friends.

But this is a love that could lead them both into terrible danger…

MP!’s favourite quote…

Have you got a YA recommendations for ’13 Reasons Why’ fans? Leave it in the comments below.

Equally, if you’re affected by any of the issues raised in ’13 Reasons Why’, please visit www.penguin-platform.tumblr.com/UKHelplines for a list of UK-based support organisations that can help.

Leave a Reply

Loading…

Comments

comments

Written by Emma Matthews

Emma is a freelance journalist at MP.

When she’s not writing articles for Maximum Pop!, you’ll find her attending gigs, geeking out over the latest beauty products and reading feminist literature. Hermione is her favourite Harry Potter character - obviously.

MP! Exclusive: Musical Bethan shares her thoughts about fans invading Zoella and Alfie’s privacy

And the winners are… WIN! 1 of 5 SIGNED copies of Bethany Mota’s new memoir ‘Make Your Mind Up’