in

11 2017 titles we’re already desperate to get our hands on


Yes, yes, we know it’s still August, but publishing works way ahead of the rest of the world so we’ve already had a peek at some AMAZING 2017 titles and we’re officially excited.

adventure time

Here are some we’d do anything for right now.

silver stars‘Silver Stars’ by Michael Grant

Our love for Michael Grant’s alternate Word War Two series where girls can fight is no secret. We can’t wait to get back to Rainy, Rio and Frangie as they fight for the Allies in 1943 Sicily.

It’s going to be brutal, addictive AND educational. Can’t get better than that really!

king's cage‘King’s Cage’ by Victoria Aveyard

The final book in a series is always cause for panic. On one hand, we’re desperate to find out how Mare gets herself out of the sticky situation that the ending of ‘Glass Sword’ left her in, but we’re also extremely reluctant to let this world and these characters go. Luckily, Victoria is serious goals on Snapchat to tide us over until February.

history is all you left me‘History is All You Left Me’ by Adam Silvera

Adam’s debut ‘More Happy Than Not’ blew us away and left us in puddles of tears and snot – it was great. We’re super excited that his second book will be published in the UK. It’s probs going to be another heartbreaker: after Griffin loses his first love, Theo, to an accident, he befriends Theo’s ex in an attempt to hold on. But when Jackson seems to feel guilty, Griffin is determined to uncover to truth about Theo’s death. Check out how many LGBT books you’ve read with our tick list quiz.

caraval‘Caraval’ by Stephanie Gerber

Now, technically we already have a proof of this, but if the gorgeous cover and red sprayed edges of the proof are anything to go by, the finished hardback of ‘Caraval’ is going to be something to behold.

I mean, it’s a fantasy novel featuring a magical circus. It’s going to be beyond wonderful inside and out.

heartless‘Heartless’ by Marissa Meyer

We’re total suckers for fairytale retellings and Mariss Meyer is the queen of them. We worship the ‘Lunar Chronicles’ and we were devastated when it all ended last year. Thankfully, Marissa is back with a retelling of Alice in Wonderland, focusing on the Queen of Hearts before she became Queen. Um, yes please.

emery lord‘The Names They Gave Us’ by Emery Lord

Quite frankly, we’d read a shopping list if Emery Lord wrote it – she’s an incredibly beautiful writer. This is what it’s all about: Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters in her faith and in her ability to cope.

the upside of unrequited‘The Upside of Unrequited’ by Becky Albertalli

Becky Albertalli’s second book doesn’t even have a UK release date yet, but we’re waiting and hoping (not very patiently) that we’ll get one pretty soon. ‘Simon Vs’ was one of our 2015 highlights and we can’t wait to meet twins Mollie and Cassie as they fall in and out of love and learn to follow their hearts. Please can we have it, like, right now?

frost blood‘Frostblood’ by Elly Blake

This debut is being billed as for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J Maas – it’s basically made for us. Just get a load of this synopsis: In a land governed by the cruel Frostblood ruling class, seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has spent most of her life hiding her ability to manipulate heat and light – until the day the soldiers come to raid her village and kill her mother. Ruby vows revenge on the tyrannous Frost King responsible for the massacre of her people.

CassandraClare_glamour_28may14_Kelly_Campbell_b‘Lord of Shadows’ by Cassandra Clare

We don’t quite know when this is hitting shelves yet, and we don’t have a cover (now who’s looking forward to that?!), but we’ve been excited ever since the excruciating cliffhanger that Cassie threw down on us at the end of ‘Lady Midnight’. We know we’re in for another cruel cliffhanger, twists that take our breath away and falling even more in love with these characters, but we’re so ready.

strange the dreamer‘Strange the Dreamer’ by Laini Taylor

We’re totally devastated that this has been pushed back a whole six months to next March (excuse us while we sob for a while), though we know it’ll be worth the wait. Laini Taylor is pure magic and we can’t wait to read this story about a mythic hero, a mysterious city, a young librarian and the aftermath of a war between gods and men. It’s going to be EPIC.

carve the mark‘Carve the Mark’ by Veronica Roth

It feels like forever ago that ‘Allegiant’ hit the shelves, and it was – ‘Allegiant’ came out in 2013! This new duology sounds totally different, and totally awesome. Set on a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. Akos and Cyra’s gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

What 2017 releases are you hyped for? Let us know at @maximumpopbooks

 

Leave a Reply

Loading…

Comments

comments

Written by Sophie Waters

Sophie is the Head of Commercial at Maximum Pop! Having studied English Lit and Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, she came to MP! to satisfy her passion for books. Sophie is a diehard Hufflepuff and feminist. She’s also a huge cat lover, and can often be found rocking her socks off at a gig.

Manchester Pride is the one! But which pop star crowdsurfed wrapped in cling film?

17 overhyped books that were actually brilliant. But do you agree with us?